Mediterranean Programme

The Med programme continues the tradition of the European programmes for cooperation (previously named Interreg). It takes place within the European territorial cooperation objective for the period 2007-2013. With a budget of more than €250 billion, the programme covers the coastal and Mediterranean regions of nine EU Member States, as well as candidate or potential candidate Mediterranean countries, such as Croatia and Montenegro, with the possibility for the participation of Bosnia and Herzegovina starting from 2009.

Programme Objectives

According to the global objectives and the orientations defined by the European Union, especially in the ERDF regulations, four priority axes have been determined, each composed of several specific objectives:


Priority I

Strengthening innovation capacities

Priority II

Environmental protection and promotion of a sustainable territorial development

Priority III

Improvement of mobility and of territorial accessibility

Priority IV

Promotion of a polycentric and integrated development of the Med space


The JTS for the programme is located in Marseille, France.


Eligible area

For more information on the eligible area, click here.

For more information about the programme, please visit the programme website.